Classify gamma linolenic and arachidonic acid

Unsaturated fatty acids are often classified according to the number of carbon atoms between the terminal methyl carbon (the omega carbon) and the closest double bond to the methyl end of the chain. An omega 6 fatty acid, for example, would have a double bond in position 6 counting from the methyl end of the molecule.

Classify, gamma-linolenic, arachidonic acid, eicosapentaenoic acid(EPA), palmitoleic acid, linoleic acid, oleic acid, and alpha-linolenic acid into the following categories: omega-3, omega-6, omega-7, or omega-9.

This classificaiton is important becase it emphasizes the biosynthetic relationships between various polyunsaturated fatty acids. which of the fatty acid classes cannot be made by mammals, and are therefore considered dietary essential fatty acids? (Choose all that apply)

a.) omega-3
b.) omega-6
c.) omega-7
d.) omega-9


"Is this question part of your assignment? We can help"